Digital Design – Mock up Lamps

Had difficulty timetabling a slot on the laser cutter

I have a friend who is a sign-writer and has a magic machine which cuts sign writing vinyl.  Explored potential for use

I had to manipulate my scale and chain maille images in Corel Draw, and then convert to an EPS format to try out on Vinyl cutter.

This cut succesfully

This gives 2 parts which I could use

The background which is normally discarded was wrapped around a plastic lemonade to explore potential for creating lampshades.

The scale shape stayed on the background and is lifted with a special high tack film.

Care needs to be taken when separating out the two layers and avoid sticking to self or not lifting.

Once the scales are on the high tack sheet they can be placed on another surface.  I placed them around a square Ikea lamp.  Great result!  would definitely try this again, maybe with other colours and pattern shapes

 

 

 

DSC01694 VinylLamp

Leave a comment